Get Adobe Flash player
Paid Advertisement
FacebookTwitterRSS Feed
August 2020
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5

Pickens STAR finalists announced by Optimist Club

STAR Group

      The 2018 STAR Student & Teacher finalists, listed as student, then teacher are from left: Noah Coriell and Sharon McCoy; Anthony Weaver and Ted Estes; Adam Massey and Sue Watters; Dalton Crowe and Kelly McArthur; Elizabeth Cohen and Christine Westbrook; Hannah Ballard and Lynn Cantrell; Olivia Moore and Tonya Russo; Madeline Pool and Kathy Daymude; Nick DiPuma and Todd Geren; Christopher Couture and Rick Sells.

The Optimist Club of Jasper, local sponsor for the STAR Program (Student Teacher Achievement Recognition) is pleased to recognize the 2018 PHS STAR Finalists.

For over 25 years the Optimists have recognized the PHS STAR Student and Teacher along with nine STAR Finalists with the largest and most unique local STAR Banquet in this statewide program.  In the local program, the Optimists not only recognize the STAR Student and Teacher, but an additional nine STAR Student and Teacher Finalists.  

The 2018 STAR Student and Teacher are Hannah Ballard and Lynn Cantrell. They were profiled in last week’s Progress.

The PAGE (STAR) program, is administered and promoted by the Professional Association of Georgia Educators (PAGE).  Since its inception in 1958 the STAR program has honored nearly 26,500 students and the teachers selected as the most influential to their academic achievement. To obtain the STAR nomination, high school seniors must have the highest score on a single test date on the three-part SAT and be in the top ten percent or top ten students of their class based on grade point average.

Each year the Optimist Club asks the STAR Students and Teachers to complete a questionnaire. Responses from all STARS will be in a later edition of the Pickens County Progress.  

The Optimist Club of Jasper will recognize the 2018 STAR Finalists and their selected teachers along with the 2018 STAR Student, Hannah Ballard and her teacher, Ms. Lynn Cantrell, at the annual STAR Banquet on Tuesday evening, March 6.  The banquet will be held at 7 p.m. at Chattahoochee Technical College, 100 Campus Drive, Jasper, Georgia.  Anyone interested in attending the banquet should email the Optimist Club at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  Reservations are required and tickets are $25 per person. The Woodbridge Inn, who has catered the Optimist STAR program since the first banquet, will again cater this year’s banquet.

Dr. Kina S. Mallard, president of Reinhardt University, will be the guest speaker for this year’s banquet.